Menu | Bonuses, Previews, Promotions & More

Railway Stakes

Held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth, the Railway Stakes is regarded as the pinnacle of early summer racing in the city, and kick-starts the Perth Summer Racing Carnival. This year’s race is to be held on Saturday November 19th.

Coming just two weeks after the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the race will attract many of the big names from the Melbourne Cup field which will then stay on for the Kingston Town Classic which is held two weeks later.

Local horses tend to have an advantage over those from New South Wales and Victoria, being more accustomed to the summer heat of Perth.

Railway Stakes History

The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 handicap for all horses three years and older and is run over 1,600 metres. Prize money for this prestige race is $1,000,000.

The race was first run in 1894 when it was won by Wandering Willie. Over the years, it has had several changes of distance. It was originally 12 furlongs, but that was changed in 1926 to eight furlongs. This was then further decreased to 1,500 metres in 1974. In 1984, it was increased to 1,600 metres again, which is where it has remained ever since.

The Railway Stakes is not a good race in which to bet on the favourite. In the last ten years, only two favourites have won, while seven have not even placed. One of the best local horses to win the Railway Stakes was Northerly in 2000, who then continued on to win the Caulfield Cup, and the Cox Plate on two occasions.

Lead up races

Lead up races for the Railway Stakes include the 1,400 metres Lee Steere Stakes held at Ascot two weeks previously. In the last ten years, four winners of the Lee Steere Stakes have continued on to the Railway Stakes, one winning, two finishing second, and one fifth. Two other lead up races are the Group 3 R. J. Peters Stakes, and the Group3 Asian Beau Stakes.

Top trainers in the last 30 years are W. J Mitchell with two winners from 11 starts, and R. W, Price with two winners from 18. The top jockey is P. Harvey who has had three wins out of 17 starts.

The barrier draw over the last 30 years shows a fairly even spread of winners, although the kiss of death barriers are barrier three and barrier 15 with no winners over that time. Despite the fact that on the face of it, horses drawn wide should be at a disadvantage, in fact no fewer than 13 horses drawn barrier 10 or wider have won the Railway Stakes in the last 30 years.