Menu | Bonuses, Previews, Promotions & More

George Main Stakes

This year The George Main Stakes will be held at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney on Saturday September 17th. This is the same day as the Underwood Stakes held at Caulfield. This is a Group 1 weight for age race over 1,600 metres with prize money totalling $500,000.

The race is named after George Main, former chairman of the Australian Jockey club, and a horse breeder and sheep farmer from Retreat, west of Cootamundra.

George Main Stakes is the main lead up race to the race which is run two weeks later, the Epsom Handicap, over the well-known Randwick Mile; the winner of the race is exempt from the ballot for the Epsom Handicap. The race was first run in 1945 and the fastest time ever was set in 2006 by Racing To Win who achieved a time of 1.33.75.

Recent Winners

The race has been won by some of the best quality horses in the country, including Kingston Town who won it in both 1981 and 1982, Lonrho (2003), Grand Armee (2004), and Road To Rock (2009).

The George Main Stakes is another race that has seen a shortage of mares winning it. Over a period of the last 29 years it has been won by only three mares – Ma Chiquita in 1986, More Joyous in 2010, and Streama last year.

George Main Stakes Betting

As one of the major races of the Spring Festival, the bookies are certain to be offering all sorts of deals to tempt you their way when race day gets nearer. It will be worth the bettor’s while to check out the online sites to see who is offering what. With different prices on offer, there will almost certainly be some arbitrage opportunities for you to lock in a profit before the race has even started.

A number of well-known trainers have indicated that they are preparing horses for this event.  This indicates that this year’s race could feature some real talent. The George Main Stakes field is always composed of high calibre horses.  The 2016 race could surpass the quality of previous years when the nominations so far are taken into account.

While the final field will not be announced until a few days before the race, CrownBet will have a form guide which punters can collect from their website ( and which is expected to include some of the finest sprinters in the country today.